WEEK 8 – LIFELONG LEARNING IN A DIGITAL AGE

This week the Global Poverty Project was explored.  A prezi was created to present a digitally creative presentation on what the project is about, what they do, who they are and examples of the work they perform.

Below is the link to my Prezi – The Global Poverty Project

Prezi Weblink: http://prezi.com/oip2tnc1ekcj/ utm_campaign=share&utm_medium=copy&rc=ex0share

Lifelong Learning 

Lifelong learning may be broadly defined as learning that is pursued throughout life; learning that is flexible, diverse and available at different times and in different places.
The European Lifelong Learning Initiative defines lifelong learning as:
a continuously supportive process which stimulates and empowers individuals to acquire all the knowledge, values, skills and understanding they will require throughout their lifetimes and to apply them with confidence, creativity and enjoyment, in all roles, circumstances, and environments” (Watson, 2003 cited in Lifelong Learning Council QLD Inc, 2013).

Teachers in this modern age need to be lifelong learners.  Effective teaching with technology requires constant learning.  I normally consider myself a Digital Native, however this activity really tested my competency in learning new technologies.  It was not the initial creating of the Prezi but the embedding of the Prezi into the blog that faced me with some difficulties.  I searched a number of forums and documents on the web to help understand how to embed the Prezi into the blog.  Most of the information I found on the web regarding embedding Prezi’s was not accurate information, so I really had to evaluate the quality of the resources I was accessing on the internet.  I expressed a number of ways to gain information on how to embed a Prezi and I even started a forum on the official Prezi website.  Support on the Prezi website responded to my concern and advised me it was impossible to embed a Prezi on a wordpress.com blog due to privacy and security reasons.  However I was not satisfied with this response and expressed further options. I posted a thread on the discussion board to my peers and sent an email to my peer buddy; who was one of my buddies for the peer rubric marking activity.  After receiving back my peer marking feedback, my peer gave me a useful link on inserting Prezi documents which worked.  So after all the attempts and nothing working, these steps finally worked!  For all my peers out there having the same issue, below is the useful and accurate resource on how to insert/embed a Prezi document onto a blog.

Embedding a Prezi link – https://courtneyandersonblog.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=165&action=edit&message=1

Prezi in the Classroom:

Presentation software is commonly used in education settings (Howell, 2012, p.154).  Teachers can use Prezi to present lessons or even design student activities/ assessment so the use of Prezi can be utilised by the students.  Prezi is a free online program and as the presentations are stored on the Prezi website, students can access them from any computer.  As stated by Jennifer Howell (2012), internet programs are very worthwhile using due to their popularity with young learners, and would be an ideal project (p. 156).  Prezi is a modern technology tool which can provide students with the opportunity to explore a technology that is popular in todays world.  Prezi can support a number of different learning areas such as mathematics, science, english as the content that the students would be required to add to their Prezi’s can be changed to reflect the area of learning being taught.

References:

Howell, J. (2012). Teaching with ICT: Digital pedagogies for collaboration and creativity. South Melbourne, VIC: Oxford University Press.

Lifelong Learning Council Queensland Inc. (2013). What is Lifelong Learning. Retrieved from http://www.llcq.org.au/01_cms/details.asp?ID=12

 

Leave a Reply

